Tutor offline
Julia Metcalfe's picture

Mrs Julia M

Post-nominal letters
PGCE BA
0
No votes yet
Tuition references available
Free trial lesson
Subject and level of tuition offered

English (A-level, GCSE & Secondary)
Religious Studies (A-level & GCSE)
History (A-level & GCSE)
Philosophy (A-level)
Government & Politics (A-level)

Qualifications

PGCE Religious Education (Secondary, St Marys Surrey)
BA Religious Studies with English (1st Class Hons and University Prize, Brunel)
Access to Humanities (including English Literature, History, Drama, Philosophy, Sociology and IT)

Tutoring experience

I have been tutoring for 9 years, both online and in person. I have taught students from all types of schools including Eton, Harrow, Cheltenham Ladies college, Grammar schools and Comprehensive schools. I obtained my degree in 1997 but have been in Education since 1990 and love working with children and see the progress and understanding they achieve under my tutelage. I was also a lecturer for one year at Roehampton university, assessing trainee teachers, so I have an excellent understanding of the ingredients needed to make a lesson and how to teach to a students preferred learning style. In school I was a head of department, head of house and a professional tutor for teachers meaning I assessed their performance each year and determined their professional needs and abilities. I am also an examiner for all of the subjects I teach.

Hourly rate (£)
30
Availability

Mon: 1-3pm & 7:15-9pm
Tue: 9am-12pm & 4-6pm
Wed: 1-6pm & 7:15-9pm
Thu: 9am-12pm & 3-5pm
Fri: 9am-6pm & 7-9pm
Sat: 6-9pm

About yourself

I have been working in education since 1990 when my first child started school. I love working with children and believe there is nothing better than seeing the children you have taught achieve their ambitions. My son went to Durham University and received a first in maths and has just qualified as a Fellow of the Institute of Actuaries, while my daughter went to Reading University to do Classics and Philosophy and is now herself a teacher.

We each have our strengths and weaknesses and it is important that we follow that which we love as we will be spending most of our lives in our careers. I am happily married and have two springer spaniels, love travelling, doing yoga and tai chi.